Song of the Day: Tegan & Sara – Now I’m All Messed Up

TeganAndSarahIWasAFool1

I believe this album was released last year but it was the first time  today that I heard one of their singles , Now I’m All Messed Up. It was actually surprising to know this song coming from the twins. This one is comprehensible  compared to their usual outfit. Openly written, so raw and emotional.

About the song, it’s that phase in your life where you ask yourself at what point can you say enough is enough with someone? It’s like Adele’s Turning Tables but the difference is, this song chooses to still go on and buy that ticket to the roller coaster ride of emotions with this person. Guess it was explained at the last part of the song where Sara screams “Go!” and Tegan says “Please Stay…” (That’s my favorite part actually..hehe) It’s like saying you want to be alone but what you really mean is, I need you here with me, you don’t have to do anything. Just be here. That’s enough for me.

Anyways, to explain further from the songwriters themselves on how the song was created, the Quin sisters, ladies and gentlemen:

Have a listen:

Stay
You’ll leave me in the morning anyway
My heart
You’ll cut it out, you never liked me anyway
Why do you take me down this road
If you don’t want to walk with me?
Why do you exit, go it alone
When you could just talk to me?

Now I’m all messed up
Sick inside, wondering where
Where you’re leaving your makeup
Now I’m all messed up
Sick inside wondering who
Whose life you’re making worthwhile

Go, go, go if you want
I can’t stop you
Go if you want
I can’t stop you

Sad
You come back to me always anyway
Leave a mark
You say you never really loved her anyway
Why do I take this lonely road
Nobody here to walk with me
Don’t want to start fresh all over again
Why won’t you just comfort me?

Now I’m all messed up
Sick inside, wondering where
Where you’re leaving your makeup
Now I’m all messed up
Sick inside wondering who
Whose life you’re making worthwhile

Go, go, go if you want
I can’t stop you
Go if you want
I can’t stop you

Now I’m all messed up
I’m sick inside, wondering where
Where you’re leaving your makeup
Now I’m all messed up
Sick inside wondering who
Whose life you’re making worthwhile

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

